Our History

Peter J. Magnotti, along with his partner, founded the stone and marble center in 1950.  In 1963 Peters’ son William J. (Pat) Magnotti joined the company after graduating from The Citadel.  In 1965 Peter J. Magnotti took over 100% of the company and it became known as Magnotti & Son, Inc.  The company continued to supply stone, marble, granite and other unusual building material to the Tri-State area.  In 1968 Magnotti & Son opened the first of its three “The Fireplace” stores.  By 1972 there were three Fireplace stores in operation, and the company became a major source for fireplaces and fireplace accessories.  In 1975 “The Fireplace“ became known as “The Fireplace & Patioplace” with the addition of the finest lines of patio furniture and patio accessoriesIn 1993 The Fireplace & Patioplace added barbecues to their list of fine products and now boasts one of the largest barbecue centers in the United States.  In 2004 we relocated our East store in a 10,000sqft retail location on Rt. 22 in Murrysville.  In 2004 we also expanded our north locations and added one in Cranberry.  Today along with almost 50 employees The Fireplace and Patioplace specializes in installing Fireplaces, designing Outdoor Barbeque Kitchens and creating beautiful Outdoor Rooms furnished with gorgeous Patio Furniture.